exile

by goatlove


Well, the Collector and I just got through another one. It seems all our fights of late are a grapple over communication styles. The fact of our love for each other is no consolation – people leave people they love all the time. Friends fade or fall into themselves. Parents divorce and disappear. Older siblings build lives of their own.

This was the first fight when one of us was banished from the bed we share. What an awful feeling, on one level. But on another, what sweet freedom! I read myself to sleep every night and to awake each morning. I missed the insta-warmth of my bedmate, but I ended up overheating anyway.

Last night the banished returned to the bedroom. And I woke up at 4:30 a.m. to rabid tossing-turning and aggressive nose blowing. So there you go.

