Estoy aqui

by goatlove

I’m here!  In Guatemala.

At the suggestion of my airplane neighbors, I came straight to Antigua once I touched down in Guatemala City.  Antigua is about 30 kilometers away, but it took 2 hours to get there because of all the traffic!  I was happy to get out of the big city.

My first night was restless.  My private room was right next to the lobby of the hotel, so lots of noise.  Plus my sheets smelled like dirty towels.

The next night was better.  I decided to go for a walk to get myself out of my room.  There was a festival going on!  I stood in front of the church that’s next to the Parque Central and listened to different groups sing ballads and Christmas songs.  Then the announcer started counting down, which was fun.  Diez! Nueve!  Ocho! Counting backwards, this is fun.  Siete!  Siez!  Cinqo!  Cuatro!  I wonder what’s going to happen when we get to Uno… Tres!  Dos! UNO!  And then the Parque Central lit up with hundreds of twinkling white Christmas lights!  What a wonderful surprise!

I listened to a lot of people singing, watched a marching band bound out some ear blasting trumpet tunes, and followed three “wise men” on horses as they clopped down the street.

I slept better that night but there’s a low-level of anxiety that’s constantly sitting on my chest like a lump of granite.  Makes it hard to breath and I have to talk myself down from panic attacks.  The hardest things?  Ordering food and making travel arrangements when I find out the bus I NEEDED to take to get to Xela left at 5:30am and it’s now much MUCH later than that.

I’m learning how to go with the flow and starting to remember that I’ve always been really good at Plan B’s.

