Finally, Winter Plans

by goatlove

I suppose I’ve kept you in the dark long enough, and besides, I’m ready to make a commitment.

Instead of completely running away to the desert (isolation fantasy) or Africa (escapism), I’ve decided to run to a place that will allow me to build a skill that will help people (productivity!).  I’m going to catch a flight to Central America, participate in a Spanish language program, and then farm around the area.  I hope, while over the border, to learn organic farming methods to grow (ha!) my farming knowledge while also honing my Spanish skills.  Returning state side next year, I hope to retain my new language knowledge for future use in U.S. food security programs and farm-to-plate childhood/young adult education.

So there it is!  That’s my grand plan.

Of course, it’s never that easy, is it?

