Paint the Town: Belfast Stole My Heart

by goatlove

On one of my trips back from Portland I decide to take the slow, scenic route down Route 1.  Come early evening, my legs were screaming for a stretch, so I pulled over in Belfast for a walk and a bite.  Belfast is directly on the water with one of those cute downtowns that consists of a few intersections, window sill flower boxes, touristy boutiques, sidewalk art, funky home goods stores, ice cream, and good eats.  After a long walk and some window shopping, I settled into a seat on the patio of a sea-side restaurant and ordered fried oysters and scallops, and, of course, a beer to go with it.  Taking in the late afternoon sun, damp air, and waterfront view, I was transported back in time to my early childhood summers spent in South Haven, MI.  I felt like I was on vacation.

Belfast is beautiful and relaxing.  I suggest having a look around yourself.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

