Goat House Rules

by goatlove

When I decided to move to a farm in rural Maine, I knew I would need to have some rules for myself.  It would be too easy to become consumed by life with the goats if I wasn’t careful.  And some of my favorite things, like dangly earrings and fluffy skirts, aren’t exactly farm appropriate.  So, without further ado, here are a few of my rules:

1. Chore clothes never, ever leave the yard, unless they’re clean and I’m going to a costume party.

2. Do NOT wear work boots beyond a quarter-mile radius from the house.  Even wearing them to the post office is pushing it.  (But they’re so convenient! I know, I know.  And I feel like a rock star in them.  But they’re also covered in goat shit).

3.  Market is a pants- and cut-offs-free zone.  Skirts and dresses only.  Showing a little leg can’t hurt when you’re trying to sell something… right?

4.  Mascara-and-dangly-earrings dress code is in effect when leaving the house after 5:00 p.m.

And one of my new rules…

5.  Flannel goes with everything and can be worn for any occasion!

