Writing: freedom and fear

by goatlove

I’ve been working on a few writing pieces recently, some for the blog and some for a yet defined purpose.  Some of the things I’m writing are very personal, from places deep in my heart and bones.  Sharing those parts of myself with all of you is a bit terrifying. I admire two of my friends and fellow bloggers who share very intimate things about themselves on their blogs.  So brave.

There is freedom in writing – I can write about whomever and whatever I want.  But once I click PUBLISH, I lose  control.  As the reader, you’re free to interpret my thoughts and ramblings looking through the lense of your own experiences.  Sometimes, from your comments, I find that you’ve taken a different meaning from a post than what I was feeling when writing it.  There’s something completely beautiful and liberating about not being able to predict how something I’ve written will be received.  And there’s something scary about it too.

I need to get all of my thoughts and ideas out in some form – on paper, on screen.  They’re piling up in my body and pushing their way out.  A force that makes my forehead and the pads of my fingers vibrate.  Every time I cough, roll over, crack a knuckle, swallow – a new idea, have to write, find pen.  I’m writing for myself, but I’m writing for you too.  I want to inform you, interest you, make you smile, make you thoughtful.

I started this blog to keep in touch with you, let you know what I’m doing up here in Maine, and compile information about my experiences living and working on a farm.  I still feel that Goat Love is doing all those things, but it has also become a place for me to experiment with my writing.  Since I seem to have a lot to say these days, I’ll be adding two extra days of blogging.  Check Ins will be moved to Saturday, and Sunday will now be a spot for me to let fellow Mainers know about fun things happening in the week ahead.  Peak in on Wednesdays for snippets of other writing projects I’m working on.  I’m not sure how blogging every day will feel, so if it’s not working for me, I’ll let you know.

Thank you for reading.  Thank you for commenting… please do more of that.  It’s nice to know who’s out there peaking at my thoughts.  Goat love.

