Check In: 3 months and still chuggin’

by goatlove

Yep, I have officially passed my 3 month point.  I’ve been living and working here in Maine for the equivalent of a trimester.  If this experience was a baby, right now it would have ear lobes, tootsies, and an audible beating heart.

I’m 26 years old (cat’s out of the bag!).  If you had told me when I was 16 that in 10 years time I would be working on a farm, I would have said “Duh!” And if you had told me on my 21st birthday that in 5 years I would be considering starting my own small business, I probably would have said, “Hm, yeah, I could see that.”  Even if you had spoken to me a year ago and told me that at 26 I would be living in Maine, I would have said, “Cool!”  But if you had told me 6 months ago that in a matter of days/weeks/months I would be feel inspired to do the following…

-settle in here
-start a farm day-of-service at a local University
-organize a music festival
-coordinate a volunteer project with a local assisted living facility
-publish something down the road
-plan a down east farming apprentice support program
-buy or lease a space to host music events
-write a screenplay

…I would have said,  “whoa.  huh?  I need a drink… do you have any whiskey” (’cause that’s my favorite).

There’s no shortage of inspiration here.  There are so many things that can be done and so many things that need to be done and so many things I want to do.  Now, these are all inspirations at the moment, mind you, so who knows what direction these ideas will go in.  BUT, the most exciting part?  I feel like I can actually accomplish some of these things if I decide to stick around…

…to be continued, I guess.

