Graduation

by goatlove

Last week Zack graduated from high school and Taylor graduated from 8th grade.  Though my unexpected rush back to Portland caused me to miss Taylor’s ceremony, I was there for Zack’s.  It’s been 4 years since I’ve attended a graduation ceremony, and last time it was me in the hot seat, graduating from college.

It was a new experience for me, being in the audience.  I felt very proud of Zack.  And seeing him throw his tasseled cap into the air didn’t make me feel nostalgic for high school (good lord, nothing could!) or homesick for college.  I just felt excited.  Excited for Zack, of course, beginning a new and exciting stage of life.  But also, I felt excited for myself.  I have reached a point in my life where I feel capable of using all of the skills I acquired during my school years and the wandering few years following my college graduation.

No, I don’t have the rest of my life planned out, or the next 5 or 10 years, or even the next year.  But I do have a wealth of business and adventure ideas exploding from my cortex, and attainable goals for the next month.  And, most importantly, I’m comfortable in my own skin.  I know my weaknesses (can we say “procrastination”?!) and I know my strengths.  I’ve had enough go wrong over the years to know that I truly can handle any disaster life cares to throw my way.   And I know I can do it alone if I have to, but I also know how and who to ask for help.

I guess I might have sneakily grown into an adult without even realizing it.  Sorry, Mom, you’ll still get sob-fest phone calls from time to time, I’m sure.  You’re not totally off the hook… 🙂

