Bun in the oven.

by goatlove

I have a whole heap of interests: writing, reading, making music, building friendships, exploring, climbing on piles, soaking up sun, dancing… I also like to bake!  I definitely miss having my own kitchen, but I get to bake during my work hours on occasion, which is always nice.  Here’s what I’ve been throwing in the oven recently:

I cooked up some monkey bread (or monkey balls as my family likes to call it) from scratch for Mother’s Day.  I found this recipe – http://bakingbites.com/2009/01/classic-monkey-bread/ – and, though it was ultra time-consuming, it turned out wonderfully.  Buttery, melt-in-your-mouth balls of cooked dough covered in a crunchy layer of crystallized sugar.  Does It Get Any Better???

Friday night is Pizza Night in the Roos household… and I’m the one in charge of cookin’ up the ‘zas!  We have a great pizza dough recipe that calls for whey, which we’ve got buckets of.  This concoction was one I was particularly proud of.  On the left: sun-dried tomatoes, spinach, and homemade goat mozzarella.  On the right: onions, olives, and ‘shrooms.  Mmm-effing-hmm!

And finally…

When I found out we have rhubarb in the garden, I just about peed my pants.  I have always wanted to bake with rhubarb but when confronted with it in the store, I could never get over the fact that it just looked like pink celery.  But with it right at my baking fingertips, I just had to test it out.  I whipped up a strawberry & rhubarb crumble from a recipe I found over at Smitten Kitchen – http://smittenkitchen.com/2007/05/crumbling-crisp-convictions/.  It was delightful!

Happy Monday, and happy baking, y’all!

