Paint the Town: Forgive me for saying so, but if you haven’t experienced the wonders of a poolside bar, you haven’t experienced life.

by goatlove

John, Rodge, Phatty, D-man, Moi, Ro-ro. Thanks to John S. for the photo!

It was a treat get out of town for a hot second the other weekend.  I had never been to Jamaica before and it was exciting to be able to share the experience with a bestie from high school (that’s my friend Phatty) and fill up my friend sack with new folks.

The trip started off decidedly rocky.  I had spent the night with a friend on MDI to try to get myself a smidge closer to the airport.  I left a touch later than a had wanted but still arrived at the Bangor airport an hour and a half before my 9:00 a.m. flight… or what I thought was my 9:00 a.m. flight.  Turns out it was actually a 7:00 a.m. flight.  WHOOPS!  So after banging my head against the wall for a few minutes and hating on myself for having such a space-case moment, I pulled it together, got my flight re-booked, and spent the day in Bangor.  My first order of business was to buy a dress, because that’s apparently what I do in these situations.  I found my gorgeous little number at Bella Luna in downtown Bangor.  I also treated myself to a picnic lunch, a long chat with my sister, a book on homebrewing, and a moderately swanky hotel room during my overnight in Charlotte, NC.  My rule of thumb:  If you’re going to f*#k up, may as well throw some money at it!

I finally got to the resort a little bit before lunch the next day, promptly tore off my clothes and replaced them with my bikini, and sprinted to the poolside bar, tackling Phatty on the way.  Water aerobics with instructor Omar (http://www.reggaeworkthatbody.com/videos.html) started promptly after that and I was breaking a sweat and burning calories before I’d even finished my first margarita!

On the beach with JD, Travis, and Phatty.

I spent  a third of my time frequenting the buffet or hitting up the fried food bar, another third meeting wonderful new friends, and the final third of my time I spent sweating my butt off on the dance floor.  I haven’t danced like that in ages and my heart and soul needed it!

On my way home I was way-layed in Philly due to a delayed flight from Charlotte.  Apparently there’s only 1 flight to Bangor in the evenings, and I missed it by about 20 minutes.  What luck, huh?!

Me and D, cracking each other up... or frightening each other, who knows!

What an amazing trip!  Forty-eight hours in Jamaica and probably half as much in airports.  It was a whirlwind experience!  To everyone on that trip, you are wonderful and I’m so happy I got a chance to meet you!  And I’d better see you next year!  If not before!!!

Many thanks to Phatty (aka Tiffany), who is pretty much the most excellent travel agent in the U.S. of A., for an incredible and unforgettable trip!  You can find Tiffany on her website at http://www.travelcounsellors.com/tiffany.ketchmark or on Facebook (Tiffany at Travel Counsellors).

