Book Review: Goat Song by Brad Kessler

by goatlove

Book Review posts will be thrown in on Mondays as I expand my cheese and goat vocabulary through literature.

I recently had the pleasure of reading Goat Song by Brad Kessler (published by Scribner, 2009).  I had originally seen this book at my friend Sam’s house (the gal who introduced me to goats way back at the start of my goat love) and then saw it AGAIN at the house of my friends Erin and Jen who I was goat-sitting for last fall.  I spent the long, crisp nights relaxing on Erin and Jen’s retreat-like rural property, book in hand, tasting the idea of what it might be like to quit my job and move to a farm.

Goat Song is peppered with fascinating goat and herding facts, cheese information, and random tidbits.  I found the first quarter of the book to be the most interesting, and the last quarter to be the most spiritual.  The Milk Diary section was a bit dry for my tastes and at moments the text was inching towards the preachy realm, but overall I enjoyed it.  I finished it in less than a week, so it’s definitely a quick read (I’ve had books on my nightstand for over two months!).

Favorite quotes:
“…on our walks when we came upon outcrops, the goats delighted in clambering upon them – as if they’d discovered land after years at sea” (p. 20)

“Time is the essential element.  Time cures the imperfections…” (p. 212)

