Paint the Town: Come for the ‘za, stay for the screaming and crying.

by goatlove

Some moments can only be described as “holy sh*t” moments.  The kind of moment that blows your mind wide open and causes your head to spin in two directions at once.

So there I am at CCLC’s First Friday Pizza Night.  Conversation bounding from presidential greetings to “careens” to triathlons to house boats as I spun around the room catching up with old friends and making new ones.  We celebrated a birthday.  We feasted!  We soaked up music.  Plans were made for a Boggle club!

When I found myself standing still for a moment I nudged the stranger next to me with making a new friend in mind.  But in his eyes I saw a flash of something I recognized.  I asked him what his name was and as soon as he told me, the stranger in front of me melted into a puddle at my feet.  Left in his place was someone I can’t see how I didn’t recognize immediately.  As if, upon realizing who he was, every new line etched in his face was suddenly familiar and no time had passed between us at all.  I was screaming.  His mom was crying.  Later he was shaking.

We knew each other in junior high and high school, but it was the way you “know” most people at an age when you’re struggling just to know yourself.  But isn’t it funny how when you happen upon someone from your past, even if it’s someone you knew only by face and name, they seem to hold a key to something that opens you right up.  That first hug was like folding myself into a memory, or a comfy sweater I hadn’t realized I’d misplaced.  We talked for hours, asking each other questions and too excited to finish our answers.

What a wonderful surprise!

If you made it to pizza night, I hope you had as much fun as I did.  If you didn’t, I suggest you not miss your chance to join in on the fun next month!

