Check in: T-M-I.

by goatlove

So, here’s a typical day for me:

Morning: Up by 5:45am, milking by 6:30am, feeding kids (baby goats) by 7:30am, making cheese or soap by 9:00am, and lunch by 12:30pm.
Arvo
: I usually have a 2 hour break after lunch to catch up on sleep, hike, blog, read, etc.
Eve
: Random chores, milking and kid feeding again starting at 5:00pm, family dinner around 7:30pm.
All day long: Dishes, dishes, dishes.

The cheese making and the soap making are fascinating.  I’d like to learn more about the chemistry involved with each process.  Both processes will be fun to play around with and improvise a bit once I actually know what I’m doing.  I’ve learned how to make most of our cheeses: ricotta, feta (crumbles and wedges), and 3 types of chevre.  I still need to learn how to make the chevre spreads (we make a dill garlic spread that is out of this world… seriously, like in another star system entirely).

I’m feeling generally exhausted and overwhelmed with information, like someone forgot to turn off my brain faucet and information is bursting from ears and pores.  Cheese and soap making are wearing me out mentally, and milking the goats is physically exhausting.  I never thought it would be possible for the insides of my forearms to get sore.

All in all, though, I’m doing quite well.  I feel comfy with my family and my room, which I’ll post pictures of soon.  The area is gorgeous with hiking and a sandy beach only 10 minutes away.  I’ll leave you with 2 pictures from my outing to those spots yesterday.

Hiking at Roque Bluffs.

Beach down the road.

